通告: 本網站持續更新中。我們將不斷添加更多内容。敬請期待。

新一代文化宣教、不一樣的智慧人生

土生土長華人子女的成長與成熟(一) – 「活現和諧家庭」系列

 

在北美,華人父母眼中的所謂完美子女,相信不外乎擁有幾個條件:讀書成績理想、在家幫忙家務、在校活躍參與、與同輩相處融洽、對長輩恭敬有禮、做事盡責、愛護家人。當父母努力教養子女,栽培他們懂事優秀的同時,有沒有想過俗稱ABC的土生土長華人子女怎樣看自己的身分認同、與父母的關係、在學校所面對的種種挑戰?

Yanzie今年二十歲出頭,剛出來社會工作。她是第二代華裔移民,家裡排行最大,有兩妹一弟。她乖巧長進,相信是華人父母眼中的模範女兒。我們與Yanzie進行了一次訪談,了解她如何面對高中生涯,探討學業、家庭和朋輩關係又如何影響她的自我形象和情緒健康。

Yanzie形容自己性格內向,但在中學階段時,為了討好別人也偶爾表現主動。比她小一歲同校的妹妹性格剛好相反,外向活躍,皮膚白晢,擁有美人胚子,在校很受同學歡迎,在這樣的比較下,Yanzie內心產生了不安全感。雖然媽媽並沒有將姊妹二人的外貌作比較,更因Yanzie努力讀書、聽話乖巧特別疼她,但也同時為她增添不少壓力,令她不想辜負父母期望,特別是爸爸希望她入讀醫學院的願望。

Yanzie表示父母對她內心缺乏安全感完全不知情,覺得他們關心時沒有問對的問題,父母雖疼愛她,一般關心的只是她的學業、做了什麼、學了什麼,卻忽略她的感受,少有問「今天心情如何?你還可以嗎?」在家裡Yanzie感覺缺乏情緒上的支援。至於同輩方面,她表示中學生心智始終未夠成熟,能真正明白她的朋友寥寥無幾。她體會中學生涯中是會有孤單感的,每個中學生或多或少總有寂寞、沒人明白的時候。

當問到她對於個人身處的地理環境對自己的成長是否重要,她認為是非常重要的,特別對個人興趣發展、社交圈子、世界觀、別人對自己的印象和偏見等等都帶來影響,例如自己是居住於南加州的華裔,很容易給人印象是生於富裕家庭、勤奮、名列前茅等。在中學階段這影響尤其大,因為青少年較渴望被認同和接納,當中卻形成了無形的壓力。

回想自己的中學階段,Yanzie表示高競爭的學習環境阻礙了她個人成長和發展,她的朋輩都在爭取好成績、積極參與運動、音樂等活動,目的只為了爭取長春籐大學的入場券。她感覺沒有人在中學階段有時間空間去尋找自己,這樣的渴求好像並不存在。不過,也不是絕望的,因為這階段終會過去,而大學生活將截然不同。她對中學生的勉勵是不要認定目前所經歷的會帶進大學,因為當環境轉變,所有事情也不再一樣,大學生將有更多空間尋找和發展新的自己。她也鼓勵中學生遇到問題時,不妨找父母傾訴,縱然他們未必一定明白理解,但嘗試給他們多一點時間,因父母都是想盡全力去了解和關心子女的。對於作為父母的,Yanzie認為懂得放手最為重要,逐漸讓青少年孩子自己作決定,只在孩子真的有需要時才出手幫忙,這樣可令他們覺得被尊重和被接納。

雖然Yanzie提到她入讀大學之後帶來正面的轉變,但也不是一帆風順的,下一期她會分享如何面對轉學系、父母期望和信仰的挑戰。

作者:葉陳婉華


活現是一個501(c)(3)非牟利機構,自2003年支持基督教和家庭價值,推廣新一代文化宣教 — 裝備年輕人和家庭跨越兩代之間的代溝及文化差異,活出不一樣的智慧人生。
版權為活現所有,歡迎網上轉貼,但請註明活現及作者。如欲文字轉載於任何刊物上,請徵得活現同意,可電郵 info@presencequotient.org 查詢。

 

你可能對以下產品有興趣:

活現和諧家庭系列: 最新影音產品 – 三代情深 MP4 研習套裝 (國語)

歡迎點擊「活現」影音籌款網頁訂購。

 

🌷支持活現事工:

(美國及加拿大) https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/support-us/donate/

(香港) https://presencehk.org/donate/

Copyright © 2022 Presence Quotient® 活現

Presence's 19 Anniversary Event | Cantonese Watch Recap | Mandarin & English Watch Recap

A Generation for the Cultural Mission - A Unique Life Filled with Wisdom

The Growth and Maturity of an American-Born Chinese (1) – Presence Harmonious Family Series

 

In the eyes of Chinese American parents, the so-called perfect child is believed to have no more than a few characteristics: outstanding academic performance, helpful with house chores, active school participation, gets along with peers, respectful and courteous to elders, responsible, and caring for family members. Though Chinese parents work hard to raise their children to be sensible and good, have you ever thought about how American-born Chinese, commonly known as ABC, think about their identity, their relationship with parents, and the various challenges they face in school?

Yanzie, in her early twenties, has just started working. She is a second-generation Chinese immigrant, the oldest child in her family, with two younger sisters and one brother. She has grown up a well-behaved, so-called model daughter in the eyes of Chinese parents. We conducted an interview with Yanzie to find out how she navigated high school, as well as the impact of academics, family, and peer relationships on her self-image and emotional health.

Yanzie described herself as an introvert; nevertheless, she occasionally would initiate conversations to please others in her high school years. Her younger sister who went to the same school is one year younger than her and has just the opposite personality. She was naturally outgoing and active in school, with beautiful skin and facial features that made her very popular. With this comparison, Yanzie had developed a sense of insecurity. Her mother, however, did not compare the appearance of her daughters, and was especially fond of Yanzie because of her hard work and obedience. This added a lot of pressure to her, to the point that she did not want to disappoint her parents, especially her father who wanted her to go to medical school.

Yanzie mentioned that her parents were completely unaware of her lack of security, and felt that they did not ask the right questions when they wanted to show their care. Although her parents loved her, they generally only cared about her school work, what she did, and what she learned, but did not pay attention to her feelings. They rarely asked “How are you feeling today? Are you okay?” Yanzie felt a lack of emotional support at home. As for her peers, she felt that high schoolers were still immature, and very few friends could truly understand her. She realized that a sense of loneliness was common for high schoolers. Every high school kid would somehow feel lonely and not understood by anyone at times.

When asked if her geographical environment was important to her personal growth, she felt it was very important, especially for the development of her personal interests, social circle, worldview, other people’s impressions and biases of herself, etc. To be specific, she’s a Chinese American living in Southern California, and it’s easy to give others the impression that she was born into a wealthy, hard-working family, and that she had good grades. This geographical impact especially affects teenagers since young people are more eager to be recognized and accepted, hence creating an unspoken expectation for themselves.

Looking back on her high school years, Yanzie could not deny that the highly competitive learning environment she was surrounded by had hindered her personal growth and development. Her peers were all striving for good grades, actively participating in sports, music and other activities, just to win admission letters to Ivy League universities. She felt that no one had the time and space to discover their real self in school, and that desire didn’t even seem to exist. It’s not hopeless, though, because this phase would eventually pass, and college life would be very different. Her encouragement to high schoolers is to not assume that their high school experiences would be the same as in college. When the environment changes, everything else is no longer the same. College students have more space to discover and develop a new self. She also encouraged teenagers to talk to their parents when encountering problems. Even though parents might not necessarily understand, try to give them more time, because parents always want to do their best to understand and care for their children. As for parents, Yanzie believed that knowing how to let go was the most important thing: gradually letting teens make their own decisions, and only offering help when the child really needs it. That way, teenagers would feel more respected and accepted.

Although Yanzie mentioned that college life brought positive changes to her sense of self, it was still not an easy path. In the next issue, we will explore more about how she faced the challenges of changing college majors, meeting her parents’ expectations and living out her faith.

Written by: Monica Chan Yip


Presence Quotient®, also known as Presence, is a Christian 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that has supported Christian and family values since 2003. We aim to raise up a new generation for the cultural mission — equip individuals and families to bridge the cultural and generational gaps and to live a unique life with wisdom.
Copyright © Presence Quotient®. Should you be interested in posting this article online, please indicate Presence Quotient® and the author. If you wish to publish this article in print, please contact us at info@presencequotient.org.

 

You may be interested in the following course:

In Asian-American families, the cultural differences between the younger and the older generations have led to differences in their core values; consequently, conflicts in communication arise. This course, “Healthy Dialogue”, helps parents and youth understand their responsibilities and roles, and provides two-way boundaries and communication guidelines between youth and parents as well.

Please click here to know more about this course.

Copyright © 2022 Presence Quotient® 活現