新一代文化宣教、不一樣的智慧人生

經營親密關係的心態轉化 -「心連心:愛家庭」系列

 

我常常問自己,哪些人與我有親密關係? 哪些人是我想建立親密關係的? 我思前想後,覺得還是家人的關係是最親密。好朋友在我的生命中固然重要,但朋友的親密度隨著時間流轉、地域距離的分隔,是會改變的,只有家人,我的內心總有一個留給他們的位置,總存在一份不變的親密感。

我明白關係的維護是要經營的,要花上時間、花上精力,但有時努力了好像仍免不了有障礙、難受的時刻。透過「活現生命規劃課程」的學習,我體會在與孩子的關係上,自己需要一些心態的轉化和成長:讓對方看見自己的脆弱,能夠分享我的不足、內心的不安甚至負面情緒。

我的女兒已大學畢業並在外州工作,平常我們有很親密的母女關係,但當她跟我提到她所遇的難處或挑戰時,有時我會情不自禁的提供很多建議,到最後她會很氣餒,覺得我在說教,而我覺得自己的好心沒有被接受,也感到十分失望。現在遇到這種情形,我學會跟女兒道歉,承認我的同理心不夠,只顧解決問題,而沒有注意到她情感上的需要。我開始明白她需要的是聆聽與支持,並非要我提供答案。因此,除非她問我的意見,否則我會委婉地問她有甚麼想法,讓她自己解決事情,相信她有能力,而不是把她當作小孩子來指導。同時我也告訴她,要是我不小心再犯時,請她提醒我要停下來,而不是生氣、埋怨我在說教,這樣子我也不會覺得受挫、受傷或不被尊重。這麽一來,我們之間的溝通方式改善了很多。當我願意向女兒坦然承認我的不足和感受,我發覺彼此多了包容與體諒,內心更感親密。

作者:林靜美

編:不少人可能認爲在其他人面前承認自己的脆弱是懦弱的表現,特別在子女面前更應保持尊嚴,以免不被尊重。在靜美姊妹的分享中,我們看見,原來向對方坦誠表達自己的脆弱或分享自己的不足、不安或負面情緒時,其實可以把彼此關係拉得更近、更親密。哥林多後書12章9節説:「『我的恩典夠你用的,因為我的能力是在人的軟弱上顯得完全。』所以,我更喜歡誇自己的軟弱,好叫基督的能力覆庇我。」願你我在親密關係的經營上即使有軟弱,都能在主的恩典中,經歷到基督轉化我們的能力,讓我們與所愛的人有更深的連結。

(作者乃「活現生命規劃」證書課程學員,文章內容是她在學習時的反思。本文版權為作者所有。承蒙作者允許,載於本網站。)


活現是一個501(c)(3)非牟利機構,自2003年支持基督教和家庭價值,推廣新一代文化宣教 — 裝備年輕人和家庭跨越兩代之間的代溝及文化差異,活出不一樣的智慧人生。

 

你可能對以下訓練課程有興趣:

心裡有愛不一定就有好的關係,因為我們的愛非但不完美,有時甚至充滿障礙。PLPC : A3 「珍惜關係 – 親密關係的經營」有助我們認識自我、檢視關係、轉化心靈、學習相處技巧。靠著主的愛,但願我們與人的關係能邁向成熟,活得更幸福美滿。

請按這裡了解更多關於「活現生命規劃課程」。

 

🌷支持活現事工:

(美國及加拿大) https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/support-us/donate/

(香港) https://presencehk.org/donate/

🌷活現籌款產品:https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/resources/presenceproduct-ch/

Copyright © 2024 Presence Quotient® 活現

Announcement: This website is in development. We are adding more information. Please stay tuned.

A Generation for the Cultural Mission - A Unique Life Filled with Wisdom

Nurture a Close Relationship with a Transformed Heart – “Heart-to-Heart: Loving Family” Series

 

I always ask myself, “Who are the people that I have the closest relationship with? Who would I like to have a close relationship with?” After reflecting on these questions, I would say that my relationships with my family members are the closest. Good friends do play an important role in our lives, but relationships between friends may change over time or because of geographical distance. Only family members will always have a special and unchanging spot in our hearts.

I understand that relationships need to be nurtured; they take time and effort. However, sometimes I just feel that despite what I have done, obstacles and hurtful feelings are still inevitable. Through Presence Life Planning Curriculum, I realized that in my relationship with my children, my heart needed to mature and be transformed; I needed to be vulnerable before them— honest with my inadequacies, my insecurities, and even my negative emotions.

 

My eldest daughter graduated from college and is now working out of state. Most of the time we have been very close to each other and have a good mother-daughter relationship. However, whenever she expressed difficulties or challenges she faced, I sometimes couldn’t help but give lots of suggestions. She would end up getting frustrated because she felt like I was preaching to her, while I got disappointed because my good intentions were not appreciated. Now, when something like that happens, I will apologize to my daughter, admit that I am not empathetic enough, and that I am too fixated on resolving the problems rather than tending to her emotional needs. I have begun to understand that what she needs from me is support through listening, not answers. As a result, unless she is asking for my opinion, I will just gently ask about her thoughts, trusting that she can resolve the problem on her own; I don’t have to treat her like a child by giving her guidance. At the same time, I have told her that sometimes my old self will come back, and if that happens, please remind me to stop instead of getting mad or complaining that I am lecturing her again, as that will just make me feel frustrated, hurt, and disrespected. Because of this, our communication has improved a lot. I realize that when I am willing to be open and admit my inadequacies and feelings, we accept and understand each other more, and are closer than before.

Written by: Jinq-Meei Lin

Editor’s note: Many people may think that it’s a sign of weakness to be vulnerable before others, especially before their children; they rationalize that only by maintaining their dignity will they be respected. From Jinq-Meei’s sharing, we can see that by being honest about our vulnerability, inadequacies, insecurities, and negative emotions before others, it can actually help draw people closer to us2 Corinthians 12:9 says, “’My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” Even though we might show our weaknesses while nurturing a relationship, by God’s grace, may we experience Christ’s power of transformation in us so that we can have a deeper connection with our loved ones.

(The author is a participant of the Presence Life Planning Curriculum Certification Course. The article is part of her reflection during the study. Author retains copyright and grants Presence and Presence Hong Kong the right of publication.)


Presence Quotient®, also known as Presence, is a Christian 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that has supported Christian and family values since 2003. We aim to raise up a new generation for the cultural mission — equip individuals and families to bridge the cultural and generational gaps and to live a unique life with wisdom.

 

You may be interested in the following course:

In Asian-American families, the cultural differences between the younger and the older generations have led to differences in their core values; consequently, conflicts in communication arise. This course, “Healthy Dialogue”, helps parents and youth understand their responsibilities and roles, and provides two-way boundaries and communication guidelines between youth and parents as well.

Please click here to know more about this course.

Copyright © 2022 Presence Quotient® 活現