新一代文化宣教、不一樣的智慧人生

愛的言語 -「活現和諧家庭」系列

 

感恩節將到,又是安排感恩節活動或聚餐的時候,這兩年因著疫情,感恩節的氣氛確實遜色不少,至少外遊計劃或大型聚會可免則免。不過感恩節的意義在於向愛的人表達謝意,做什麼並不重要。

表達感恩之情的方法很多,不同人希望收到的禮物也不一樣,有些人簡單如一句窩心的說話便已足夠。多年前在一個講座上,學會了每個家庭成員都有不同愛的言語。愛的言語就是一個人喜歡被愛的方式,有人喜歡收禮物;有人喜歡聽讚美詞;有人喜歡多陪伴;有人喜歡多擁抱;有人喜歡被服侍。

當時上完課,才毅然發現大女兒的愛語是「禮物」,無論什麼環境、情況,總喜歡收禮物,大小不拘,小禮物總讓能她樂上半天。至於大兒子,我猜他愛得到「肯定的說話」,如稱讚得宜,他會很有動力完成該做的事。小女兒當時太小,還未懂說話,別人抱她,她就非常滿足,總覺得她愛「親密的接觸」。現在她已九歲,仍然喜歡親親抱抱,可說是三歲定八十。

至於我,還以為自己喜歡甜言蜜語,愛語會是別人說話上的肯定,但其實我也喜歡另一半的陪伴。每天總有做不完的事情,忙亂時若有伴侶在旁,就能滿足、安全。我喜歡冒險,很喜歡品嚐新食物、嘗試新玩意、學習新知識,卻害怕獨自面對,刺激中常帶點驚恐,有人陪伴會感覺安全和踏實。

感謝主耶穌常在我心裡,成為永遠陪伴我這膽怯人的心靈朋友。主耶穌說過:「我是葡萄樹,你們是枝子。常在我裡面的,我也常在他裡面,這人就多結果子。」(約15:5) 我有主,但也不能忽略自身對愛語的需要。

我們每人期待愛語都不同,家中的小孩、伴侶、父母各人的需要也不一樣,只要對症下藥,必能增進彼此關係,增添不少溫馨樂趣!就在這個感恩節發掘身邊人愛的言語,用他們喜歡的方式來表達謝意,相信他們更能深刻感受你的愛和感恩!

此刻,你體會自己的愛語又是什麼?

作者:葉陳婉華


活現是一個501(c)(3)非牟利機構,自2003年支持基督教和家庭價值,推廣新一代文化宣教 — 裝備年輕人和家庭跨越兩代之間的代溝及文化差異,活出不一樣的智慧人生。
版權為活現所有,歡迎網上轉貼,但請註明活現及作者。如欲文字轉載於任何刊物上,請徵得活現同意,可電郵 info@presencequotient.org 查詢。

 

你可能對以下訓練課程有興趣:

心裡有愛不一定就有好的關係,因為我們的愛非但不完美,有時甚至充滿障礙。PLPC : A3 「珍惜關係 – 親密關係的經營」有助我們認識自我、檢視關係、轉化心靈、學習相處技巧。靠著主的愛,但願我們與人的關係能邁向成熟,活得更幸福美滿。

請按這裡了解更多關於「活現生命規劃課程」。

 

🌷支持活現事工:

(美國及加拿大) https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/support-us/donate/

(香港) https://presencehk.org/donate/

🌷活現籌款產品: https://presencequotient.org/zh-hant/resources/presenceproduct-ch/

Copyright © 2024 Presence Quotient® 活現

Presence's 19 Anniversary Event (Mandarin & English) | Sep 24, 2022 10:00am PST | Watch Recap

A Generation for the Cultural Mission - A Unique Life Filled with Wisdom

Love Language – Presence Harmonious Family Series

 

With Thanksgiving just around the corner, it is the time for planning Thanksgiving activities and gatherings. But because of the pandemic, the usual festive atmosphere of Thanksgiving has not been as strong in the last two years. Basically, travelling and big gatherings have been out of the question. The essence of Thanksgiving, however, is not activities, but to express your gratitude to your loved ones.

Just as there are different ways to express gratitude, different people also have different preferences for the kinds of gifts they like to receive. For some people, simply a warm, caring word can make them feel good. A couple of years ago, I learned from a seminar that every family member has their own love language. A love language is the way one wants to be loved – it can be receiving gifts, a word of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, or acts of service.

After the seminar, I came to realize that the love language for my oldest daughter is “gifts”. No matter what happens or the circumstances, any kind of gift, big or small, can make her day. As for my oldest son, I think his love language is “words of affirmation”. A compliment at the right moment can give him the momentum to cross the finish line. Back then, my younger daughter was so little that she couldn’t even talk yet, but she enjoyed being held, so I guessed that her love language must be “physical touch”. Now she is nine and still likes to be hugged and hugging others. Indeed, one’s personality is formed at a young age.

As for me, because I like sweet words and praise, I assumed  my only love language was “words of affirmation”. However, I’ve discovered that I also like the company of my spouse. On a busy day, I can find fulfillment and security even amidst  the day’s hustle and bustle when my spouse is around. I am adventurous and like to test new recipes, try out new things, or learn new information. However, I feel afraid to do these things by myself, as the excitement always comes with some sort of fear. It makes me feel more secure if someone can keep me company.

I am thankful that I have Jesus in my heart, and He is a friend who is always there for a fearful person like me. Jesus said, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit.” (John 15:5) Although I cannot ignore my love language of spending quality time with others, I can remember that the Lord is with me.

We all have our own love language, and so do our children, spouses, and parents. If we can understand their preferences and speak their love language accordingly, it can bolster our relationships with warm feelings and joy. For this Thanksgiving season, try to discover the love languages of the people around you and respond with their preference to show your gratitude towards them. Surely, they will deeply feel your love and gratitude!

As for you, do you know your own love language?

Written by: Monica Yip


Presence Quotient®, also known as Presence, is a Christian 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that has supported Christian and family values since 2003. We aim to raise up a new generation for the cultural mission — equip individuals and families to bridge the cultural and generational gaps and to live a unique life with wisdom.
Copyright © Presence Quotient®. Should you be interested in posting this article online, please indicate Presence Quotient® and the author. If you wish to publish this article in print, please contact us at info@presencequotient.org.

 

You may be interested in the following course:

In Asian-American families, the cultural differences between the younger and the older generations have led to differences in their core values; consequently, conflicts in communication arise. This course, “Healthy Dialogue”, helps parents and youth understand their responsibilities and roles, and provides two-way boundaries and communication guidelines between youth and parents as well.

Please click here to know more about this course.

 

🌷Support us:

(US & Canada) https://presencequotient.org/support-us/donate/

(HK) https://presencehk.org/en/donate/

🌷Fundraising Products: https://presencequotient.org/resources/presence-store/

Copyright © 2022 Presence Quotient® 活現