新一代文化宣教、不一樣的智慧人生

發掘孩子天賦潛能 – 學習風格評估 @「活現潛能」

 

「活現潛能」自從2013年成立以來,提供了不少專業評估諮詢服務,其中一項是對孩子和家長進行學習風格評估。我們從中體會到不少亞裔家長對子女的專長、個性的特質和學習風格不一定了解;加上代溝、文化差異和家長的教養方式等等問題,彼此在互動中容易產生張力、造成誤解和衝突。「活現潛能」旨在透過各項服務幫助家庭減低衝突來支持和鞏固家庭,並裝備父母,讓他們能用體諒和健康環境來培育子女成長。

盼望透過以下一個真實的家庭個案,讀者能對我們的評估和諮詢服務有進一步認識。

 

Melchor Family

梅爾喬家庭(母親和她兩個子女)曾在「活現」接受有關「活現潛能」的學習風格和多種智商評估。透過個別和家庭諮詢,葉顏瑋茵博士幫助孩子們認識自己,增加自信,和更有效學習;同時亦協助梅太太更能觸摸孩子的脈膊,提高她對管教孩子的信心。

七歲的安琦麗嘉(二年級)與十一歲的安奇(六年級)是兄妹。他們需要很不同、甚至是相反的學習環境。當安琦麗嘉需要一個很安靜的環境去幫助她集中學習時,安奇就喜歡用有音樂的環境或間歇小息去改善他的集中力。從這次面談,梅太太學會了孩子的需要有所不同,是由於他們的學習風格不一樣。

當安琦麗嘉被問及她對評估和諮詢服務的意見時,她回答說:「很有趣呢!因為有人可以幫我明白這些事,也讓我媽媽瞭解我應該怎樣去學習。」

哥哥安奇亦有類似的意見,告訴我們:「真有趣,我對自己有新的瞭解,這對我的學習很有幫助。」

透過「活現潛能」的服務,這些孩子認識到他們都是滿有天賦的個體,都能按著自己最佳的環境去作最有效的學習。

梅太太過去一直以為自己對孩子已經瞭解十足。雖然她與子女之間的關係很好,但因為經常讓哥哥安奇放著音樂學習,往往令到妹妹無法集中,讓她感覺媽媽不公平。這次服務之後,梅太太對兩個孩子的學習需要和偏好有更多的掌握,因而面對平日的管教,可說鬆了一口氣;這也使她可以更有效去支持和配合他們。

作者:活現編輯部

(本文經編輯部整理;原文載於《活現簡訊》2017年9月號)

 

請按這裏認識更多關於「活現潛能」的評估和諮詢服務。


活現是一個501(c)(3)非牟利機構,自2003年支持基督教和家庭價值,推廣新一代文化宣教 — 裝備年輕人和家庭跨越兩代之間的代溝及文化差異,活出不一樣的智慧人生。版權為活現所有,歡迎網上轉貼,但請註明活現及作者。如欲文字轉載於任何刊物上,請徵得活現同意,可電郵 info@presencequotient.org 查詢。

Copyright © 2024 Presence Quotient® 活現

Announcement: This website is in development. We are adding more information. Please stay tuned.

A Generation for the Cultural Mission - A Unique Life Filled with Wisdom

Learning Styles Consultation @ Presence Possibilities

 

When the Melchor family came in (Mrs. Melchor with her two children) for Presence Possibilities’ Learning Styles and Multiple Intelligences assessment and consultation, Dr. Agnes Ip engaged them in some enlightening discussions.

 

Seven-year-old Angelica (in second grade) and 11-year-old Angel (in sixth grade) are siblings who study in very different and, some might say, opposite environments. While Angelica needs a quiet environment in order to be able to focus, Angel likes to study in an environment with music and needs occasional breaks in order to better focus. Mrs. Melchor learned that these differences in behavior were a result of her children’s differing learning styles.

Through individual and group consultations with Mrs. Melchor, Angelica, and Angel, Dr. Agnes Ip helped the children gain confidence and helped Mrs. Melchor gain confidence as well in how to parent her children and supervise their study time more effectively.

When asked about her opinion of the assessment and consultation service, Angelica responded with: “It was very fun because someone was helping me so I can understand it and it also let my mom know how I should study.”

Her brother Angel had a similar opinion. “It was fun. I learned a lot of new things about myself that help study better,” Angel replied.

Through Presence Possibilities’ service, these children learned that they are talented individuals who study most effectively in their respective optimal environments.

Before coming in, Mrs. Melchor thought she understood her children very well and even though they had great relationships, but consultations revealed that her daughter felt it was unfair that her mother always let her brother study to music, which was distracting for her. Mrs. Melchor expressed relief that she was able to gain a better understanding of the learning needs and preferences of both of her children, so that she can begin to support and accommodate them individually.

Presence Possibilities’ assessment and consultations aims to support families in reducing household conflict and equip well-meaning parents as they seek to raise their children to grow up in a loving and healthy environment.

 

Written by: Christine Shen

 

Please click here to learn more about Presence Possibilities’ Assessment and Consultations services.


Presence Quotient®, also known as Presence, is a Christian 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that has supported Christian and family values since 2003. We aim to raise up a new generation for the cultural mission — equip individuals and families to bridge the cultural and generational gaps and to live a unique life with wisdom. Copyright © Presence Quotient®. Should you be interested in posting this article online, please indicate Presence Quotient® and the author. If you wish to publish this article in print, please contact us at info@presencequotient.org.

Copyright © 2022 Presence Quotient® 活現